My Top Ten Interview Questions for Character Development.

 

So, my next couple posts are going to be about character development. I am very excited about a new character I am working on and I want to share. Because of this, I decided to give you a rundown of my process. I have two things I normally do when writing a character. First is the interview, then the choices. We will start with the interview and go on from there.

How well do you really know your characters you create? If asked could you answer general questions about them? What is the hero’s favorite food? What is the villains biggest pet peeve that no one else knows about? Is the secondary character allergic to pets? To bring a sense of realism to our characters, we need to bring them to life on the page. I have used any number of interview questions, but these ones are the top ten I like to use. Why? Because I think if you want to get to the good stuff, you need to ask the most telling, and hard to answer questions.

I am a believer that if you are going to answer a good question, you intern deserve a good answer. Try not to limit yourself to one or two word answers. If you need a couple extra pages to answer a question that is fine. You are just adding more depth to pull from later.

  • What kind of environment did he/she grow up?
  • How much self-control and self-discipline does he/she have?
  • What, if anything, would he/she like to change about their life?
  • What’s the worst thing he/she has ever done to someone and why?
  • What is something that will annoy this person?
  • Idiosyncrasies? (eye twitch, afraid to shake hands)
  • Is he/she lying to themselves about something?
  • How would he/she describe himself?
  • Does he/she have a secret?
  • How does he/she think about their parents?

Pick the character interview questions that will be most helpful to you in your own writing. Don’t be afraid to ask the tough questions. And answer the questions honestly. Feel free to take from this list if you like or start compiling your own list of questions. This will help set the tone right away when you introduce a character to your story.

Make sure to like and follow this as the next couple of posts will tie in together with this one. We will cover interview, then choices, then create a character and place them in a short story.

Thanx for reading.

D.B. Flint

This entry was posted in Blog, Books, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Top Ten Interview Questions for Character Development.

  1. Pingback: Character Sketch: Choices. | D.B. Flint: Writing Creatively

  2. Pingback: Character Development | D.B. Flint: Writing Creatively

Comments are closed.