Book List

Today I am adding a new feature to my blog. I am going to share some of the books that helped me become who I am.

Among the many favorite books I read as a child, I loved Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. Where_The_Wild_Things_Are_(book)_cover

To many professionals it is an amazing piece of literature because of its basis in psychoanalytical properties. But I was I kid. I didn’t care about any of that. And I still don’t. To me it is a wonderful trip into the imagination of a young boy. It also had several qualities that I could relate to as a child. Number one, I was super jealous of the wolf costume. Come on, who didn’t want a cool costume like that, or those of the lost boys in Peter Pan? And seriously, a trip to the island of the Wild Things, I would be in heaven.

I look at the book now, and see how simple of a book it is, yet I am still blown away at the impact it has on my mind. I still look at each page and feel the same magic I did when I was young, as Max’s bedroom slowly became a jungle. 12x18-max-room-where-the-wild-things-are-placematNow, I too can see the literary value of the book, but it will forever be an adventure for me, and not a classroom lesson. Saying all of that, I am putting Where the Wild Things Are as the first book on my book list. Both as a favorite read and as an inspiration to my own writing. My hope is that I will be able to send readers on their own fantastic adventures full of dreams and imagination.

What was one of your favorite books and why?

D.B. Flint

This entry was posted in Blog, Book List, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.