Update: Chapter 7

Just finished the chapter 7 rough draft for book four of the Treasure Hunters series. I am excited with the direction it’s going. I still don’t know how my new character will play out yet. The next two chapters will let me know. Here is a small excerpt to whet your appetite.

James started again hesitantly. “Your phone number. You know, so I can call you…on the phone.”

Cora nodded her head slowly, thinking. “I don’t know what that is. I live on level six, in pod twelve. 6-12, that’s the only number I know.” She talked like James should have every idea what she was talking about. James had no clue.

James pulled out his phone and showed her. “Your phone number.”

She took the phone and looked it over. “We don’t have these things.” She handed it back to him unimpressed. Now they were getting somewhere. Although James was surprised that she was clueless about a cell phone, it now made sense why she didn’t have a number.

“Never mind about those then. I was trying to figure out how to find you again. The other day, after you left, I realized I didn’t know how to contact you.”

Cora bit her lip and twisted a tow into the grass. “That’s because you’re not supposed too.” She said.

James could see she looked uncomfortable. He didn’t know how to respond. This night was not going the way he hoped it would. In fact, it was just downright bad. Cora could see the hurt look on his face. She stepped in close to whisper in his ear.

“What I mean is, I’m not supposed to be topside. Up here,” she motioned around. “I live down there, underground, in the old fort. But, it’s sort of a secret. You can’t tell anyone. I would get in so much trouble if my dad caught me up here.” This caused her to look over her shoulder.

James was shocked. “How?” was the only word he could manage.

She leaned back so she could look him in the eye. James tried not to flinch under her gaze. Then she reached down and took his hand. “Come here, I’ll show you.”

That is just a small sample before I really get into the meat and potatoes part of the story. I have so many ideas swimming around my head that before I move on to chapter 8, I’m going to take some time to write them all down as reference to draw from. Always a good idea to keep notes, you never know when you might need them. If not for your current writing, then perhaps the next.

Drop me a message or leave a comment. Love to hear from you all.

D.B. Flint

P.S. I promised once before that I will give you a sample of my notes and perhaps how they can be used to create a story. That will be coming next week. So stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Blog, Books, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.