How To Push the Story Forward.

How do we keep our stories moving forward? Not always an easy task. I very recently, yesterday in fact, came to a point where the story stalled. I was writing, things were flowing, then without warning…WHAM! Dead end. It felt like I just had the wind knocked out of me. It was all going so well, and then I lost it. I did some writing exercises, took a break, did some reading, but still I was stumped. I was frustrated beyond belief. I’m a creative writer! This is my story, my words, my writing. Everything in this book has come from my own vision of a story. So, I wondered, how is it possible for me to lose my own way. Short answer, I was losing my mind. Long answer, I just needed to calm down and remember something I learned years ago. That every word, every sentence, is there to propel the story forward.

To push a story forward, your characters need something to challenge them, emotionally, morally, or physically. Look at it this way, you are writing a story about a hitman, but the same story has already been told a thousand times. You want your story to stand out…but how? We send something at him that he wasnt expecting. Such as, nobody needs his services. You now have a hitman who has no one to kill. Sounds like a problem. How do you get around that? As writers, we created the brick wall that now stands in the hitman’s way. Now it is our job to help him get past this obstacle. First we ask why? Why is there no one to kill? Is he a lousy hitman? Did the world suddenly run out of people to kill?

Already your creative brain is churning out ways to fix the problem. What you have just done is challenge your character in a way that will force him to move forward. Who knows, maybe forward is to tell the tale of the troubled hitman that suffers from depression and hangs out in bars reminiscing about the old days. Maybe your hitman will seek out new ways to fill the void by taking up knitting blankets for the children’s hospital. It doesn’t really matter. What matters is that your story is once again moving forward. Ideas are flowing and you’re back on track. Don’t be afraid if this changes your story. The important thing is to keep writing. Revision is where you can fix what you don’t like. For now, just write.

P.S. If any of your brains were buzzing with hitman scenarios, I would love to read them and see what you all came up with. Email or post in the comments below.

D.B. Flint

This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How To Push the Story Forward.

  1. Βom dia ! Isso é meio off-topic, mas preciso ⅾe alǥuns ajuda
    de um blog estabelecido. É duro ⲣara definir o
    seu próprio blog? Eᥙ não sou muitо técnico, mas podе resolver aѕ coisas mᥙito
    rápido . Estou pensando em criando meu próprio, mаs
    еu não sei onde сomeçar . Tem algum pontos оu sugestõᥱs?
    Obrigado

    Like

    • dbflint says:

      Sorry for the delayed response. I had to translate first. Your question was:

      This is a bit off-topic, but I need some help
      Of an established blog. It is hard to define the
      Your own blog? And I’m not very technical, but I can solve these things
      fast . I’m thinking of creating my own.
      I do not know where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions?
      Thank you

      WordPress is a fantastic place to begin a blog. Their site is designed to walk you through creating a blog. That’s the easy part. The hard part is knowing what kind of blog you want to write. What is it you want to share with the world? Take a look at what you write and try to get an idea of who is going to listen. (AKA Your audience) Something I always preach is write what you know. If you want to write a blog about poetry, then you better be someone that has knowledge of poetry. Don’t be afraid to let your individuality shine through.

      Best of luck
      D.B. Flint

      Like

Comments are closed.