Writing Prompt

Sunday, I traveled to a place where music is life, and phantoms do exist. It was I believe my fourth time seeing the Broadway musical, The Phantom of the Opera. Ordinarily I am not a fan of live productions. There is something about this one though that keeps me going back for more. I remember when I was younger watching the silent black and white film version. Saturday afternoon television was either filled with whatever sport was on at the time, westerns, or horror shows. It was a time when Vincent Price still reigned supreme as the king of all things spooky.

From a creative writing view-point the story is genius. Obsession, a love story, a villain who we root for, and loss. The play itself was written to take people through a series of emotion. I always leave wanting more. I always wish I could stay in my seat and wait for the next curtain to go up. That, ladies and gentleman, that is how we want our stories to be. At least that is how I want my stories to be. For those of you who have seen the play, or the movie, help me out here. It’s amazing, right? If you haven’t seen it, put it on your bucket list.

Now to the heart of the matter. I made an observation there that I thought was profound. Patrons were allowed to take their wine, champagne and other beverages inside the theatre, so long as it was in a sippy cup. One like a child would use. Then it struck me how I was watching an adult society being treated like little kids. My mind wanders, as it often does, wondering what a society would be like if adults were still treated like children under the rule of a governing force. Maybe some sort of mutation didn’t allow their brain to grow. Or a genetic defect passed through protein in beef that makes the brain revert to a childlike state. Interesting story potential, right?

If any of you feel creative today, run with it. Write a short story and see what you can come up with.

D.B. Flint

This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized, Writing, Writing Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.