Book List

As usual I spend a good amount of time reading. I recently picked up a copy of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I have to say, it is worthy of the praise it has received. I also HIGHLY recommend to any of you that desire to push the boundaries of traditional writing to grab a copy and crack it open. Not only is it well written with a compelling story, but it is written in such a way that makes it wholly unique. A haunting tale of life and death in Nazi Germany told through the eyes of Death as he follows the Book Thief, Liesel Meminger, as she journeys through the political upheaval, and harsh realities of life. There is a passage in the book that has stuck with me since I read it the other night. I think it really puts into perspective the cruel nature of war.

“You could argue that Liesel Meminger had it easy. She did have it easy compared to Max Vandenburg. Certainly, her brother had practically died in her arms. Her mother abandoned her. But anything was better than being a Jew.”

A very powerful statement of the hate and fear that consumed Germany during the war. For many of us, such hate is incomprehensible. We try to understand it through history. We listen to the stories passed down from those that lived through it. But the Best we can do is to honor the fallen by not repeating the mistakes of those that came before us.

I may write more on this book when I am finished eating up its pages. If anyone else out there is reading or has read The Book Thief, I would love to hear your impressions and thoughts on the book. #thebookthief

D.B. Flint.

This entry was posted in Blog, Book List, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book List

  1. abookbeyond says:

    I loved this book too! I thought the imagery was amazing. Also I wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Liebster Award! https://bookbeyond.wordpress.com/2017/08/09/liebster-award/

    Like

Comments are closed.